My Favorite Place to Write

My favorite place to write is at my float cabin on Powell Lake, BC. I invite you to click the video below to see why.

My off-the-grid home has fewer distractions than a city-folk condo. I have more time for reading, writing, cabin-life chores, and enjoying nature.

WayneI save time each day for writing. I carry a small notebook wherever I go to jot down notes and reminders for later use. This is most helpful when I’m writing my Coastal BC Stories series. I use my laptop for writing, editing, and book design. A solar and wind powered electrical system keeps it charged and ready to go. And I draw inspiration from my surroundings, even for my science fiction novels.

One example is Anomaly at Fortune Lake. I had fun making fictitious Fortune Lake come alive by using real locations on Powell Lake. Third Narrows (Fortune Lake) where protagonists Ashley and Justin reside is similar to my First Narrows and Hole in the Wall.  Readers will notice a series of line drawings in the book. These scenes are based on Powell Lake, my favorite place in the whole world. And, yes, Ashley and Justin’s float cabin is very similar to my year-round off the grid residence.

Click here to read or download the first three chapters of Anomaly at Fortune Lake in PDF for FREE. Enjoy. — Wayne

About Wayne Lutz

I reside in a floating cabin on Powell Lake in British Columbia. My science fiction books focus on space travel, astronomy and alien first encounters. I also write a series entitled 'Coastal British Columbia Stories' highlighting the people, places, and off-the-grid adventures in and around Powell River, BC.
This entry was posted in Books, Powell River Books, Wayne and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Favorite Place to Write

  1. beckony says:

    I’m so jealous of your cabin, it looks beautiful! What a great place to write in. Personally, I’m more of a city girl, but what an experience it would be to just go somewhere remote and write for a week.

  2. Wayne Lutz says:

    City girls and city guys — if you haven’t given off-the-grid living a try (or at least a visit), you might be surprised. If writing is your passion, remoteness promotes an ease of dealing with written words, mostly because it promotes an ease of thinking. Did I mention that I’m a city-guy product of Los Angeles? It doesn’t get any more city-like than that, but once I tried off-the-grid living, I was hooked forever. A thought for writers who want to try it in a gentle sort of way — pack up a tent, sleeping bag, an air mattress, and a folding chair; now head for a local state campsite or maybe a national park. Try setting up your tent in a remote spot, and bring your laptop along, too. Watch how easily the words flow! Heck, if you have to head to McDonald’s for dinner, that’s not even cheating. When you get back to your campsite, you’ll be ready to write some more.

Questions and comments are always welcome. - Wayne

