Sky Watching

DSCN0511Summer is a time when I really enjoy sky watching. The nights are clear and warm, unlike winter sky watching.

Just after sunset, we often see the International Space Station pass overhead from our float cabin. My wife Margy and I sit in our “zero gravity” chairs on the deck and imagine the astronauts passing overhead. Once their bright dot winks out of the sun’s reflection, I close my eyes and dream about what it would be like to be way up there, looking down at the world spread out below.

IMG_3883My telescope spends lots of time on the corner of my cabin deck this time of year, ready for action. During the day, it tracks sunspots. At night, there’s Messier 57 Ring Nebula and Messier 13 Hercules Globular Cluster to follow. Little wonder that deep sky objects like these often become settings for my science fiction books.

Do you like to sky watch? — Wayne

About Wayne Lutz

I reside in a floating cabin on Powell Lake in British Columbia. My science fiction books focus on space travel, astronomy and alien first encounters. I also write a series entitled 'Coastal British Columbia Stories' highlighting the people, places, and off-the-grid adventures in and around Powell River, BC.
This entry was posted in Wayne and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sky Watching

    • Wayne Lutz says:

      Thanks Hans – Looks like you are a master photographer. I’ve always wanted a setup for photography using my telescope, but have only tried simple shots with my handheld camera. – Wayne

Questions and comments are always welcome. - Wayne

